The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Single action, multiple projects? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm new to OmniFocus, and right now I'm trying it out to see if it will fit my needs. On the whole I have been able to answer my questions through intuition, experimentation, and the documentation, but now I've run across something that I can't figure out. I'm hoping that someone here can help.

I have many projects that share actions. To give a little more context, I'm a researcher, and I'm often working on related papers at once. While the obvious workaround would be to include the same action ("Read New Article on Quasar Mating Calls") in both projects and check it off twice--however, I think that would easily lead to user errors (assigning the wrong due date, missing the click, deleting it thinking it's a reduplication from a clicked/unclicked repeating action, etc.). Is there a way to include one action in multiple projects?

(I suppose another workaround would be to have both papers be subprojects of a larger project, but that easily turns everything into the master project of Work, which seems to defeat the purpose of having projects at all.)

Or perhaps, with a situation such as the above (and I haven't even mentioned the tasks that are dependent on each other), I should be using a different application?

Thank you in advance.

Maybe using a folder to group the work and ordering the projects by order of execution in the folder might do the trick? Bring the 'Learn about Quasar night life" project up to the top of the list before the other projects that depend on it.