The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Frustration: Export Woes Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am a strong advocate of OF. After buying 7 copies for my team, I am trying to get everyone to use it. In my mind, the missing link is the extremely limited export functionality. I know that somewhere out there in the future there will be a connection between Omniplan and OmniFocus, but I'm getting tired of waiting— I've been using kinkless/OF for two years. This is my all time favorite vintage post.

So where are we with Export?

OmniFocus to OmniFocus Export?
What is this one for? It would be great if I could export a part of a project and have someone else on the team import it. Currently this doesn't seem possible if you export to OmniFocus.

TaskPaper over Plain Text?
1) Why is there export to taskpaper, but not plain text? The people on my team don't want to be bothered with or understand changing the extension from .taskpaper to .txt. Via "get info" I just changed taskpaper to always open with text edit. So, if I want my team to have access to the files in textedit, It seems like I need to do this with every machine. Why not make text edit the default and have the small number of users of taskpaper change their extensions?

Export to HTML
This is actually a cool feature. However, I would love to be able to customize this to be able to use my own style sheet.

CSV
This seems like a good universal format, but I'm not sure how helpful it is for the Novice user.

IMHO, here is what seems to be missing: