The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Creat new action when marking prev. complete Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi,

I am new to Mac and new to OF, but not new to GTD and the GTD Addin for Outook, which I have been using for some years.

Since migrating to Mac and OF I find there are several things I miss, one of which is the possibility of creating a new next action, when an item is completed. Is this possible? Have I missed out on something?

Thanks for any help!

Kat

Could you give a bit more detail about this? Are you looking for actions that repeat, or something else?

I'm not sure I know exactly what Kat is talking about, not having used the Outlook plugin, but I know I occasionally hit something similar.

I have Omnifocus set to mark the project complete as soon as the last action is done, but sometimes I haven't thought of a second action yet, or think of another one on the spot, so I have to be careful to add the new action first (or at least a placeholder) or leave the existing action incomplete until I can identify the next one.

If you're doing the GTD thing of only coming up with the very next action for any given project, it's easy to mark that one done and "complete" the project before you really meant to.

I'm not sure what you'd do about it in software. I love being able to mark all the actions as done and watch the project disappear, so for me it's just a matter of having now trained myself to be sure the project is really done before I mark the last action done.