The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Making a fresh start with a messy document Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Just wondering if anyone else has any experience with this situation that they could share, and if perhaps a similar thread has arisen.

I'm a postgrad student and spend most of my time working from home. On top of various work commitments, minor music projects, I seem to spend half my time sorting out the junk in my apartment. Having lived by myself for several years now I've got boxes from previous places, messes of paperwork..various repairs to work on. I never seem to get past the weekend tidy up on the surface, if that.

I've been using OF on and off for about a year now- initially I was looking for something to manage my todo lists and saw how much success a friend was having with this. I went on to read most of GTD and that changed lots of things for me. For a while there was light at the end of the tunnel!

I guess the main problem is that when I first started using the software I saw it as a great way to take notes for university as well, so I would put anything and everything in there. Alongside sorting out regular stuff - shopping lists that I would have put in on a whim, badly organised projects, I have all these little fragments. Half-relevant ideas for essays that refer to old drafts. Going through and deciding which to delete or assigning contexts in general feels a bit overwhelming.