The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniGraffle > OmniGraffle for iPad
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Disappointing purchase Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I must say, after all the rave reviews I was expecting a little bit more from OmniGraffle for iPad. I have had no other experience with Omni software before but I must say this all feels very clumsy and Windows-like. Miles away from what I've come to expect from Mac software in my many years of working with it.

Anyway, I just wanted to put that out there. Now for my immediate problem. (The so called online manual, which I consulted to try and find a solution for this issue, really doesn't deserve that title. It only glosses cover a few option in the app in a very verbose, non intuitive and techie way. Where are the user friendly pictures?)

My issue is with the connecting lines between objects. How on earth am I supposed to control their connecting points on the various shapes? When I try to connect the bottom of one shape to the top of another using an angled line it automatically jumps to a random place on that shape. Do I have any control over the points of origin of connecting lines on a shape? I need this control as the automatic lay-out of diagrams comes up with some ridiculous solutions with lines overlapping shapes and randomly originating from all sides of the shape. Please give me some guidance.

Interesting tactic, slam the program, then ask for help. Reminds me of the old restaurant review: "the food sucks, and the portions are too small" :-)