The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

GTD, OmniFocus, and Schoolwork Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am a high school student who has recently begun working with GTD (I'm currently working with iGTD while waiting for my OmniFocus alpha invite). Regardless of what you may think, I do have a lot of things to manage in my life outside of schoolwork. In the past I have used the OS X homework application "Schoolhouse" to manage my homework, tests, and school projects, which almost always rely on solid deadlines (if I don't complete tasks by their deadline, I usually cannot complete them later) However, the application is very limiting towards encompassing other aspects of my life. Does anyone have any advice, ideas, or experiences that they could share on using the Getting Things Done system--and OmniFocus specifically--for managing very solid deadlines, and lots of them (i.e. 2-5 new projects every day, and up to a couple dozen tasks, just for the schoolwork). I understand that David Allen's book talks about this, but I'm still waiting for it to arrive from Amazon.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhm2006
David Allen suggests that "very solid deadlines" be placed on a calendar and that the calendar be reserved solely for those things.
I do not agree with this interpretation. But I might be plain wrong.
I think he only suggests that you write day or time specific actions to your calendar, and every other actions to your trusted-system.

For a student, that would translate as:
- write the deadline in the calendar, to serve as a reminder
- write the actions that will constitute the project in the GTD system chosen.