The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

 
Disable archives? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hey there,
why does OF makes archives of old actions? I'll never need them again, they are comleted :D So why is there no option to disable archiving? Or "delete stuff before x" instead "archive before x"?
 
Archiving is an optional feature; nothing requires you to use the command.

Why not just delete stuff as you complete it? Or, if you don't want to delete items immediately, collect them in the archive and then just periodically delete them from there.

Having said that, it might not be a bad idea for the option of archiving or deleting old actions using the same mechanism. You should send feedback to Omni to make a feature request (go to Help -> Send Feedback in OmniFocus).

-Dennis
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toadling View Post
Archiving is an optional feature; nothing requires you to use the command.

Why not just delete stuff as you complete it? Or, if you don't want to delete items immediately, collect them in the archive and then just periodically delete them from there.

Having said that, it might not be a bad idea for the option of archiving or deleting old actions using the same mechanism. You should send feedback to Omni to make a feature request (go to Help -> Send Feedback in OmniFocus).

-Dennis
I check actions as complete and click on clean up - but this is no real delete, or? I mean if I go on "archive" an use something like "archive before 01.09" my database will be smaler after this - so something will be moved from my database to an archive, but what? There's nothing to archive?

I think the completed actions want be deleted, they just "hide" for us and go to an archive - and that's more as stupid. If I choose an action as complete - it is completed and can be "killed" from my database -.-
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmsboy View Post
I check actions as complete and click on clean up - but this is no real delete, or?
Correct. Marking items as complete does not delete them -- they're just hidden from view in some cases (depending on your view settings).

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmsboy View Post
I think the completed actions want be deleted, they just "hide" for us and go to an archive - and that's more as stupid. If I choose an action as complete - it is completed and can be "killed" from my database -.-
That may be want you want, but I don't think that's what most users want or expect. Many people, including me, find it useful to be able to refer to completed actions at a later time.

If you're certain that you'll have no need of an item after you're done with it, why not just delete it rather than marking it complete? That's what I do with actions that I don't feel the need to archive or ever reference again.

-Dennis
 
But isn't it delete if I check the as complete and click on "clean up"?
 
No. It's hide. Watch the videos to learn more about using the view bar and perspectives. Also try Perspectives → All Items. OF only deletes when you tell it to delete. Completing an item just changes its status.
__________________
Cheers,

Curt
 
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backups of Archives thosss OmniFocus 1 for Mac 1 2010-08-18 02:44 PM
Archives, database, etc Fiona OmniFocus Extras 4 2010-02-17 02:24 AM
Location of Archives beharkey OmniFocus 1 for Mac 6 2008-11-11 09:25 PM
update archives old version anyway philonous OmniWeb Bug Reports 6 2008-05-15 05:56 AM
Web Archives m0vpg OmniOutliner 3 for Mac 0 2007-07-05 10:19 AM


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.