The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Today's Posts

Clients as projects Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am a Newbie to OF and want to use it to follow clients (actually patients) so that I can know what needs to be done for them and schedule actions, alerts and reviews. I don't know how best to organise this and wonder if calling each client a project (I'd end up with hundreds of projects) would work. Has anyone experience of this or indicate whether I'm going aqt this in the wrong way?
Thank you

I prefer using important customers as hierarchy contexts:
*customers
*customers : custA
*customers : custA : Person1
*customers : custA : WaitPerson1

For less-important customers, I start the task with customers' name and/or person >
e.g. Task subject reads > custA/Person1: planning meeting

Yet there are MANY possible ways to get into going.
Try starting with putting in ONLY a few Cust & tasks for testing so ;)

I've used folders before for customers. I haven't found a perfect setup for this yet.

It can definitely be useful to make a folder to hold the projects associated with a given customer - that lets you create and complete individual projects as needed, rather than having one perpetually uncompleted project sitting in your sidebar.

Marcus' suggestion of a context hierarchy can also be helpful - group the folks you'll be working with under a parent context. You can then assign tasks to individuals or the group as a whole as needed.

Hope this helps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuly Rosenfeld View Post