The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniPlan > OmniPlan General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

How to maximize the highlight of violations? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am new to project management, and I really like OmniPlan and it has already helped me to clear up the planning and management of our projects.

I have a question wich might be silly, because I realize that the aim of this software is different, but here goes:

In our project, we have tasks set in the future that will impossible to complete with the given effort, resources and time constraints.
This shows up in the "Violations" column in "Task View", in more detail in the "Violations Window", and in the load graph in "Resources View".

Is it possible to further highlight them in the Gantt chart? And what other ways are there to make them really stick out?

We need this to explain our request of additional resources.

Thanks!

It doesn't really add much of a highlight to the Gantt chart, but you can turn on another bit of information to show violations. Go to View->View Options and you'll see that there are controls for configuring what information is displayed on the Gantt chart. One of the choices offered is a violation count, which will show a number representing the number of violations relating to the task or milestone. You might also turn on the Critical Path highlighting to show that the violations actually matter.

A trivial example showing the violation count on both a task and a milestone, plus the use of the Critical Path highlighting:

Thanks for the suggestions!