The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Starting a basic Workflow with OmniFocus Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm new to the OmniFocus world but after hearing some podcasts (Mac Power Users and Back to work) hearing the great things about omnifocus I decided to try it out. In the past I've used Toodledo and RTM but neither of them ever felt "complete" to me. I was skeptical of using things like OF or Things because I like the idea of keeping everything in sync. I have a mac laptop at home, mac at work, and an iPad (plus an adroid phone but he's SOL for the moment). But I have my own WebDAV server that I sync with my Dropbox account so I feel pretty comfortable that my main devices will have my data when I needed it. I'm also in the process of going through DA's GTD book so now I'm trying to setup a basic Workflow to get me started.

Folders
From reading through blog posts and forums here it seems folders are mainly used for Areas of Focus. I have the following so far

Business - Projects for a side business I'm planning to start
Clients (With sub-folder per client) for Companies/People I do side work for
Developer - All things Developer focused I do
Home - Projects around the House or with Wife
Personal - Personal projects (my blog, photography, etc)
Work - My 8x5 job

Contexts
This still confuses me a bit on how to uses these effectively, but from everything I've read it seems I just need to jump in and try one system and if it's not working for me change it up to something that is. I fall in the category of I'm always on a computer

@Errands, Stuff to do when I'm out
@Home