The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniPlan > OmniPlan General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Filtering By Available Actions in 2.0 Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am pretty new to OmniPlan and thus this may be a dumb question:

I have a project with several different people working on tasks. I would like to be able to filter out all of the tasks that I can do right now...ie, their dependencies have been completed and they are thus available for me.

I have figured out how to filter by resource. But that just shows me everything I need to do regardless of whether dependencies have been met.

Is there any way to filter by status = "available" or something like that?

In OP, there is no status "available", afaik. But you could do it the other way round: assuming that the plan is up-to-date and has been rescheduled properly, you could filter tasks that are not overdue (because those have been completed) or due soon.
My 2 cents

I've attached an Applescript that walks the dependency graph and figures out which actions are available. When the script completes, the available actions are selected, so you could use the script in combination with a filter that shows only selected tasks. If you run the script with a selection in the document, only the selected tasks will be examined, otherwise the entire document will be searched for available tasks. For a document of some size and complexity, this script will probably be a bit pokey, and I would suggest using a filter to select only tasks which are incomplete, selecting those tasks and running the script.

Known limitations: