The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Feature Request - Delete Project Protection Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I would love to see a little more protection on the delete process, such as a confirming dialog box, on things that are not simply aliases.

I am very new to using OF but feel a bit concerned about how easy it is to delete a significant amount of work, specifically under the InBox / Library Pane, with one errant delete. There is always UnDo if you catch what just happened, but it appears that if you don't catch it immediately, the work is simply gone.

Thanks.

Isn't this the case for many (most?) applications available on the Mac? What do you do in those apps? Wouldn't it feel strange to have Word or Keynote pop up a warning every time you deleted a line or an object?

I'm being a bit facetious, but it's something to think about. In many ways, OmniFocus behaves more like a document-based app than a database, perhaps revealing its OmniOutliner heritage. I personally like this aspect; it's one of things that makes OmniFocus easier to work with and quicker to edit than many competitors.

But I wouldn't be against the addition of a Trash container that would collected deleted items. However, I don't like the idea of a dialog popping up every time you hit the delete key. That would be more than a little annoying.

Incidentally, I think this topic has been discussed before on this forum. I don't remember what the final conclusion was, but it might be interesting to look up the old thread.

-Dennis

Dennis,