The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

My current context list Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi All!
I just wanted to share my current OF context list as some of you might find it helpful. I've spent a lot of time fiddling with my context and as a tool-based approach didn't quite fit well my needs, I ended up with contexts which in fact denote the state of mind I tend to be at repeatedly plus kind of work I perform.

I work as an IT consultant/Project manager and therefore have most of my job-related actions performed using my computer or iPhone, using @computer would therefore result into a long list of actions all falling in this single category. So here goes my current working setup:

Focused
- am typically off-line staying focused on writing something (a report, final account, ...)
- usually I schedule and allot a time for this in my calendar

Creative/Thinking
- brainstorming, planning projects, jotting down ideas, creating outlines of future documents, ...
- might be online and distracted by communication

Command/Control
- communication by email, phone, sms, ...
- generally project-related work moving things forward
- i.e. doing minutes of a meeting, scheduling appointments, reading mail would go here

Analyze/Study
- i tend to study a lot: languages, ITIL processess, Project management methodology
- all this kind of reading, study, on-line reading goes in here
- i typically schedule this in calendar as well

Admin/Maint
- typically a tool-dependent maintenance goes in here - i.e. cleanup in OF database, OS updates, calendar and contacts maintenance, filing reference material to EN, ...