The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Omnifocus vs Toodledo? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am a college student, and I am trying to figure out the best system for me. I'm also a father, homeowner, and employee. I need something for my busy life.

I have been using Things for quite some time, and have been happy with it, until recently when I realized syncing is a huge disappointment.

In my search for what will work best, I have come across OmniFocus and Toodledo. I like the idea of Toodledo, and I currently own the iPhone and iPad apps for this system. I like the idea of syncing between my Macbook, my iPad, and my iPhone, as well as my Windows 7 computer, and any other computer I may be near via the web interface.

I realize I would be stuck with my Apple products with OmniFocus, but I was hoping someone could tell me why I would make the investment in the Omni Systems instead of the free (or $15 yearly) with toodledo, besides the fact the Omni looks prettier.

Thanks!

It's been a while since I looked at Toodledo, so if any of this is incorrect, please accept my apologies in advance. :-)

Off the top of my head, some advantages would be:
  • single-purchase vs. subscription payments
  • being able to keep all of your data on devices you control if privacy is important. (No third-party server required, in other words.)
  • all of OmniFocus' location-based features
  • the ability to create and save custom views of your database (perspectives)
  • Additional GTD support (the reviewing features, for example)

Other folks may have other ideas; hope this helps!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian View Post