The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Disappearing notes? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm 99% sure this is not happening, but I want to put a stake in the ground:

Has anyone entered items (with notes) via Quick Entry, and discovered that they've disappeared later? Either the notes have gone missing, or the items themselves?

I'm pretty sure this is user error, and I'm just misremembering things: I thought I captured a note, and it turns out I didn't. It seems unlikely that this would be an OF bug.

But it sure seems to be happening a lot lately, so I figured I'd ask around.

I've been using OmniFocus heavily since September 2007 and I've never had any data disappear on me - no data loss whatsoever. That's including every pre-release sneakypeak build as well.

I'm not saying it couldn't happen, but in my experience OmniFocus is extremely reliable.

-Dennis

Jay,
The only thing along these lines that I've ever experienced involved an unexpected interaction between OF and another application that worked via Input Manager (TextExpander). You might want to check to see if you've got something like that going on.

The other thing that happens to some folks is that they accidentally switch to a view setting that is hiding some tasks and they don't realize it.

Curt

This does happen---I recently submitted a bug report about it.

I dragged a file into the notes and although the notes symbol was still visible, the dragged file went missing (I checked weeks later as I wanted to work on this task). I found the file in the OmniFocus.ofocus data directory, but it still doesn't show up in the notes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasi View Post