The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Setting Action status for On Hold Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm new to Omni Focus, and just trying to set it up for myself.

I have a single-action item "Sewing Quilt" that will become a project eventually. I want to mark its Status as On Hold. I don't want to set up an On Hold context, because I already have a Sewing/Making context that I want this action to go in.

Is there a way to set the status for a single action as On Hold?

If you have an action you don't want to complete or delete, but don't want showing up on your available actions lists for a while, there are a few options, including:
  1. assign it to a context which is on hold
  2. set a start date on the action far in the future
  3. put it in a project or single-action list which is on hold
It sounds like you don't want #1, so #2 or #3 would be the way to go.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blairskee View Post

I have a single-action item "Sewing Quilt" that will become a project eventually. I want to mark its Status as On Hold. I don't want to set up an On Hold context, because I already have a Sewing/Making context that I want this action to go in.

I have a separate folder of on-hold projects (in the projects view) called Someday/Maybe. Generally, I don't have actions items for these projects, but there are exceptions. Each one of these items is listed as a project that is marked on-hold (pause button icon in inspector). That way any actions that are in there don't show up in the contexts lists that are included for regular in-progress next actions.