The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Lists - books, music, movies Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi,
I am pretty new to OmniFocus. Trying to figure the best way to organize my lists.

It may seem like a simple and silly question but I also may be trying to make a bigger project out of this then it needs to be so any suggestions for the following question/s would be appreciated.

Aside from creating to-do lists, projects and grocery lists I keep a fairly extensive list (on paper) of books - stuff to read, fiction - non-fiction, reference, music, CD's, movies etc., things to research - artists, links, subjects, as well as places, restaurants, stores- (I think you get the picture)

Looking for suggestions with the use of the folders, actions, etc

I had thought of just having a separate app for just lists but I think I would rather be able to just keep everything in one place.

Sincerely,

I've been experimenting with this as well.

One way I've begun to start keeping lists of books to read, movies to see, wish list or ideas is:
Create a single action project and assign it to a default context of the same name:

Example:
Create Wish List Context
Create Wish List Project
Select Wish List Project
Open Inspector
Change to Single Action Project
Assign Default Context of wish List

Then I either place the project on hold (right click on project and set to on hold) or the context on hold (right click on context and set to on hold) to hide it from my daily workflow.

In my daily workflow I have the view bar set to active projects and active contexts.

Some of my lists I have different applications for:
I use Netflix Queue to track movies to see