The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Project: on hold/wait vs. Context: wait Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm just getting started with OF and I'm new to GTD. I've tried to wait until I had a better fleshed out question, but I'm going to just throw out this general one.

How do you use Project: on hold (status) vs. Context: wait?

Many of my actions are single actions. I've been a FC user in the past so I really thought I needed prioritization but I'm starting to see that the ways that I've tweaked my planning in the past is very GTD and I always WAS using contexts more as much as priorities.

I've tried other programs/lists on the computer and I've always gone back to paper and pencil. I find that paper and pencil allows me to get more of my little actions done and my big things and future don't get looked at like they should. So I'm trying to get big things and future things etc. into OF. But I don't want them always in my face. So rather than re-invent the wheel, what do others do?

I've searched etc. but the info I found on this seems older and I don't know what features have changed. I'm using the sneaky peek because I'm working towards seeing if this will work for me on mac and iphone.

I use a Waiting context for items where I'm waiting for another person or some event. I put projects on-hold if they are someday/maybe ideas--that is, things I'm not yet committed to doing. I set future start dates on actions and projects if I'm committed to doing them, but won't have time to work on them for awhile.