The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus for iPad
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

I wanted to love Omnifocus, I REALLY did... Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Ok, so I wanted to love Omnifocus, I REALLY did ...

It's about the 7th or 8th iPhone app I've tried for managing my GTD system.

As a little background, I am a small business owner with 3 separate (and very different) businesses, as well as a 4th one on my Someday/Maybe list when I can clear the time and finances to launch it. I'm also a musician, and I'd like to think I have a personal life as well. So one of my requirements right off the bat was a system that can help me stay on top of all these different things, while still keeping them separate and delineated in a way that allows me to maintain a sense of control and balance. Realistically that boils down to either a great nesting folder setup WITH ARBITRARY DEPTH, or an EXTREMELY robust tag system with multiple orders of sorting from every view, and/or subtags (the way OF does subcontexts).

Right there 90% of the apps fail because they assume that a single level of folders and maybe one level of subtasks with a few tags thrown in for good measure will suffice for me. But that just doesn't cut it, and it's not that I'm trying to over-complicate things. It's just that when I have to track 30-50 client accounts across several businesses, manage rehearsals and shows and practice for several different bands, and make sure I never miss a bill and don't drop the ball on a relationship rapidly heading towards marriage, I really need a great deal of organizational flexibility to manage everything in a way that makes sense.