The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniGraffle > OmniGraffle General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Which Omnigraffle should I buy? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm a student and plan to use this program as a way of organizing material and relationships in preparation for exams. I want to spend as little as possible and would therefore likely opt for the basic over the Pro version. However, where does it explain what I would lose by purchasing the "lesser" program?

The OmniGraffle pages at the OmniGroup web site list most of the Pro only features.

Just in case you didn't know, OmniGroup has education discounts on its software - access them through their store.

If you are a student and money was tight. I would plan on saving over the Pro version and buying the standard one as long as you also got OmniOutliner. The two work great together. You can quickly input text and relationships in OO and then import and finesse in OG. For a student the bundle would be more useful, I would imagine, than the OG Pro.

And snap, JKT is correct, Omni do great Education discounts.

Don't forget, in your evaluations, you can download trial licenses for all of Omni's products.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TommyW
If you are a student and money was tight. I would plan on saving over the Pro version and buying the standard one as long as you also got OmniOutliner. The two work great together. You can quickly input text and relationships in OO and then import and finesse in OG. For a student the bundle would be more useful, I would imagine, than the OG Pro.

And snap, JKT is correct, Omni do great Education discounts.

Don't forget, in your evaluations, you can download trial licenses for all of Omni's products.