The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus Extras
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Getting task ID into variable - help :( Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi, I am totally new to scripting - thus far all I want to be able to do is create a new task from Filemaker Pro into Omnifocus - I have a script that does this.

The snippet which makes the new tasks is below - obviously I substitute variables in place of the hard coded strings.

BUT, how do I get the ID of this newly created task so I can store it in a variable? I have tried set myTaskID to id of task as a command directly after the make new inbox task but this fails --- I have tried what seems like 100 other variations.

tell application "OmniFocus"
tell the first document
make new inbox task with properties {name:"test", note:"test 2", flagged:true}
end tell
end tell

Could anyone help an idiot?!

Thank you

P.S. I am also an idiot because I posted this to the wrong forum! Not sure how to delete this and start again!

Last edited by StefMercury; 2011-07-28 at 01:05 PM..

Hi, I am totally new to scripting - thus far all I want to be able to do is create a new task from Filemaker Pro into Omnifocus - I have a script that does this.

The snippet which makes the new tasks is below - obviously I substitute variables in place of the hard coded strings.

BUT, how do I get the ID of this newly created task so I can store it in a variable? I have tried set myTaskID to id of task as a command directly after the make new inbox task but this fails --- I have tried what seems like 100 other variations.

tell the first document
end tell
end tell

Could anyone help an idiot?!

Thank you

Catch the result of the 'make' command like so:
Code: