The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Best way of organizing using projects and folders Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi,

I'm a total GTD newbie; I have read the book (some months ago) and OmniFocus has rekindled my enthusiasm to use the method again.

Now I find the hierarchal contexts very intuitive, but unfortunately projects don't quite seem to work that way.. there are no hierarchical projects!?

You seem to be able to organize projects into folders, but they seem to have little organizational usefulness because they lack "due dates", contexts, completion flags and pretty much anything.

As a software developer I have:

* a number of software products
* a number of typical activities for each product
* a bunch of versions

So it would be handy to organize things into: "Product A : version 8.0 : Programming", "Product B : version 6.5 : Website", etc.. and organize my projects in that manner.

Unfortunately it looks like that can't really be done because projects aren't hierarchical.. how does one get around that limitation? Or am I totally missing the point?

I (and many others on this forum, I think) use folders as "areas of responsibility" (e.g., "homeowner," "husband/father," "teacher," etc.) which works well for my purposes. I've also seen people use two big folders for "work" and "home."
As I see it, the main functionality that folders do (besides just giving some visual order to your projects list) is facilitating focusing - so you may want to think about in what scenarios you anticipate focusing on groups of projects, and place in folders accordingly.