The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

"Waiting For" in Every Day Use Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am new to GTD and Omnifocus and have a general question on how to best execute delegation/waiting for/follow up, etc. This seems like the most ambiguous area of the GTD model, considering precise, explicit, next actions are the cornerstone of GTD.

If I send en email to Bob requesting X, what is my next step? Do I move the existing action of "Email bob to request X" (which has been performed) to the Waiting For context? Do I add "Receive X from Bob" as a new separate action and move it to a Waiting For Context? Do I go ahead and build in an Action step under the relevant project of "Remind Bob via email to send X" and put a due date of it a couple days before I need it?

It just seems like many Waiting For items will inherently spin off into additional follow-up actions such as call, email, etc.

Welcome to the forums, BryanC!

I don't find Waiting For contexts all that useful in my workflow. Instead, the approach I use with situations like this is to make the action I put in OmniFocus de-emphasize the specific action of communicating in favor of the purpose of the interaction. Barring special circumstances where I must communicate via a specific method, I wouldn't file an "Email Bob to request X" action, in other words.