The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > Applying OmniFocus
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Folks who work in PC-based environments, how do you apply Omnifocus? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi all,

I am an insurance broker working in a firm that is well-rooted in Microsoft. I'm trying to determine if it's worth using Omnifocus if the vast majority of my time (about 75%) is stuck in front of a PC. I've been using Toodledo these past few months because it's a web-based task manager that I can access virtually anywhere.

That said, I do have a Macbook Pro and I've thought about bringing it with me wherever I go. But for those of you in my situation, how do you all apply Omnifocus when you're stuck in a Microsoft-only environment?

Many companies are willing to let employees use their own computers. I would simply ask my boss "is it ok I use my mac at work for organising myself?" Apart from that there are lots of practicalities depending on your company's IT structure that are impossible to list here. I have a cheap desktop PC at work that I use with remote desktop (RDC) say, 50% of my time. If needed, I send tasks to Omnifocus by email, but most of the time you simply get your OF Quick Entry atop whatever you look at on the PC. One thing though: You are on your own here, it seems. If so, you should know your Mac well, and you should be able to actually increase your efficiency by bringing it to work. If not, there is a risk you'll just be considered an eccentric by your colleagues, I'm afraid.

Good luck!